Flour tortillas

Hi there! Has it really been a week since I made (cobbled together) the quiche? Time certainly flies when you’re looking for new recipes to try!!

Today I decided to have a go at making flour tortillas as we eat them (shop bought) an awful lot. We much prefer them to sandwiches as there is just something nicer about them somehow, less bready (if you know what I mean?).

Well I searched for a recipe and eventually decided to follow this one, although I did halve the recipe and had to tweak it a little to make it work. The ingredients I used were:

400g plain flour

1.5 tables spoons of butter

1 tea spoon of baking powder

a pinch of salt

8 – 10 fl oz of boiling water

Other than the changes in amounts I just followed the recipe as it says over at All Recipes.

I think I cooked the first tortilla for too long as it was very crispy but still tasted pretty good. The ones that followed were a lot better and my son and I enjoyed them with a cheese and salad filling for our lunch. The tortillas were a bit thicker than the shop bought ones but tasted so much fresher! I will definitely make them again and I still have some for lunch tomorrow.

I really want to try to make other flat breads too, maybe with herbs or garlic. Do you have a favourite kind of bread that you like to make? I’d love to know and perhaps you would like to share the recipe?

Thanks for stopping by!

Jane x

4 thoughts on “Flour tortillas

    • They were great Elizabeth but I am not sure this is the best recipe for them as it says it makes 60 if you use the full ingredients but even halved it would never have made 30! They weren’t as hard to make as I thought they would be though!! You should definitely try them : ) xx

  1. I absolutely will be trying these because we LOVE tortillas here, and we can’t find organic ones. I would love to make them, so I’ll try soon, I think, and will make sure to let you know !
    Thanks a lot for sharing the recipe !!!
    oxoxo

Leave a Reply

